1. This Software is no longer supported by us. Please download the new motion control software SimTools.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Do not share user accounts! Any account that is shared by another person will be blocked and closed. This means: we will close not only the account that is shared, but also the main account of the user who uses another person's account. We have the ability to detect account sharing, so please do not try to cheat the system. This action will take place on 04/18/2023. Read all forum rules.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  4. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  5. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Input and Output Interfaces

Discussion in 'Force-Profiler Simulator Control' started by tpba, Sep 15, 2009.

  1. tpba

    tpba Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Balance:
    374Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hello
    The input and output boards that I am currently writing my DLL for are actually separate model boards... Should I code them as separate modules or is it safe to do them together...?

    I guess for the sake of code re-use each one should be a separate DLL ?
    t
  2. tpba

    tpba Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Balance:
    374Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Thanks
    I don't believe they function as a single comport - I believe they are separate... Actually, I don't believe they are even classed as a commport, but I need to dig deeper into the existing code to verify.
    T
  3. tpba

    tpba Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Balance:
    374Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi again ( and hopefully sirnoname )

    I'm going through the 10BitUSB interface source code to adapt it to my own hardware.

    Can I please ask a few questions ( sorry but they're not in programmatic order ) just to confirm my understanding...

    * It seems that the input data is read via the method ContinuousReadThread ?

    * It also seems the output data is written via the SetValue method..? Not sure if I missed somehting there..

    * I notice the function ReadOutPacket contains a writefile function - so is this a read or write function ? perhaps it is not named correctly ?

    * Lastly, the GetInputs seems to list the inputs numerically for the calling program right ? How does the calling program access the output numbers ? i know they get setup in one of the functions, but I can't see how the calling prog knows which outputs to write to..?

    Thanks
    Tim

    Attached Files:

  4. tpba

    tpba Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Balance:
    374Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Thanks Martin
    Do you mind if I get you to check my understanding please ?
    This leaves me puzzled then.. I've checked here - http://www.x-simulator.de/wiki/Writing_ ... ofiler_2.x
    This list doesn't tell me which method is the read input from device method :
    •DllInfo GetType(void);
    •IOsharing GetInterfaceIO(void);
    •INPUTSTRUCT GetInput(bool inputs[255]);
    •int ExecuteVirtual(void);
    •int SetOutput(int number, unsigned int wert);
    •int IsConnected(void);
    •int SetVirtualOutput(int number, unsigned int wert);
    •void InitDLL(void);
    •void EnableThread(bool enable);
    •void OpenSettingsDialog(void);

    The descriptions in the manual don't seem to talk about the actual reading function.. I was expecting to see the profiler call the read method which would run in it's own thread - is that assumption wrong ? I think I'm missing something - sorry in advance.
  5. tpba

    tpba Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Balance:
    374Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Ahhhh !!! The penny drops. Thanks for clarifying that...

    Now, onto the output side of things... Just to be sure - I should use the virtual set function for outputting my motion control commands ?
    t
  6. domotto

    domotto New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    GINOSA (TARANTO) ITALIA
    Balance:
    - 210Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, JRK, 4DOF
    hello please help me I can not set output k8055 setup pneumatic solenoids could you tell me what values to set or maybe a setup shema aiutatemi.grazie please, I am new with x-sim. :sos: