1. Do not share user accounts! Any account that is shared by another person will be blocked and closed. This means: we will close not only the account that is shared, but also the main account of the user who uses another person's account. We have the ability to detect account sharing, so please do not try to cheat the system. This action will take place on 04/18/2023. Read all forum rules.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Kart Racing Pro Motion Support

Discussion in 'Suggestions for improvements - Oudated' started by BanjoDubs, Jan 6, 2011.

  1. BanjoDubs

    BanjoDubs New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Balance:
    0Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Has anyone else tried this sim?

    http://kartracing-pro.com/?page=about

    It's pretty good and is gaining some momentum. It would be nice to have support for this in xsim. The developer has a telemetry dll and example code on his site. Is anyone else already working on support for this?
  2. bvillersjr

    bvillersjr Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,174
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    Balance:
    437Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 1 / -0
    I think the demo is free. The demo seems to be the same as the full version. You just enter a license code into the demo to make it a full version.

    I can buy a copy for the community if it is needed.

    http://kartracing-pro.com/?page=downloads
  3. BanjoDubs

    BanjoDubs New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Balance:
    0Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Yes the demo does not support the telemetry feed. I have the full version so I am willing to test the plugin.

    I am led to believe that this game is not compatible with any rFactor stuff. Am I wrong in thinking that the telemetry.dll in the plugins folder is what the example .c file is calling?
  4. BanjoDubs

    BanjoDubs New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Balance:
    0Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Yep that makes sense, useless sending me a build you have no idea will work.
    I am also willing to pay for a license if required. You do make a good point about the release version, its early days for the sim.

    I have cleared up how the telemetry works, it appears as though the sim fires off a call back to your code and sends the data, this would cause blocking of the sim if not returned immediately. I asked the developer if they would consider another method like a memory map so that the blocking would not occur.
  5. BanjoDubs

    BanjoDubs New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Balance:
    0Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Sorry mate, I wasnt saying xsim would block, I was just saying that KRP waits for the return of the callback before continuing with the processing of the sim, he does not fire those of async.
  6. BanjoDubs

    BanjoDubs New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Balance:
    0Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    The telemetry.dll plugin file is a sample dll that the developer made to log the telemetry to a file. To my knowledge its not required. I'm also trying to get my version of the test code working at the moment but can't see my output file. Ive made a simple dll in C++ express using just the sample code but cant get it to work either.
  7. BanjoDubs

    BanjoDubs New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Balance:
    0Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I can see that the original dll is in C and mine is C++. Its got some weird stuff in the function names and also has different entry points. Are you able to make it work? I'm not that great with c++, im a delphi guy.
  8. BanjoDubs

    BanjoDubs New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Balance:
    0Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Yeah mine is something like ?Startup@@YAHXZ. Not sure why this is happening, like I said im new to c++. If you get a solution let me know, please?
  9. BanjoDubs

    BanjoDubs New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Balance:
    0Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    So after doing some reading im guessing im on the right track that there needs so be some code or compile option regarding name mangling?
  10. BanjoDubs

    BanjoDubs New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Balance:
    0Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I got the functions displaying correctly in dependency walker by changing the code from:

    __declspec(dllexport) char *GetModID()

    to:

    extern C __declspec(dllexport) char *GetModID()

    I will try and get it working with the sim
  11. BanjoDubs

    BanjoDubs New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Balance:
    0Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Cheers, good stuff. I got my version working also. I needed to get it working for one of my own hardware projects as well as my simxperience setup :)
  12. Henning Piez

    Henning Piez Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Location:
    Stuttgart
    Balance:
    17Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    Hi,

    You got it working? Can you give us the info how we get Kartracingpro to work with our X-sim rigs too?
  13. BanjoDubs

    BanjoDubs New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Balance:
    0Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I can't try that sample that sirnoname uploaded cos im not at home. You think you can give it a go Henning? haha I recognize you from iRacing forum Henning! That setup of yours is coming along nicely!

    @sirnoname I have posted a conversion of the c example to visual c++ project that I made on the KRP forums. I left a note to see if any other dev over there wants to make a MMF proxy project to improve the efficiency of multiple apps grabbing telemetry. If that was to happen, is it a huge job to change over the x-sim plugin at a later date? Is there anything that could be done to make it easier on your side?
  14. BanjoDubs

    BanjoDubs New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Balance:
    0Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I was only suggesting using an mmf so that the sim only has to service one dll and the other calling apps can poll it at their own rate. Was thinking this might be better for the kart sim software in terms of efficiency so that it will not lower it's performance. It's also a safer option in case somebody writes a bad plugin.
  15. BanjoDubs

    BanjoDubs New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Balance:
    0Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Yep I agree on some of that but this quote from the developer lead me to what I was suggesting:

    Please note that all function calls are blocking, so control should be returned to simulation as soon as possible to avoid framerate issues.
  16. BanjoDubs

    BanjoDubs New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Balance:
    0Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I can suggest that change over on the other forum if you like? You are 100% right, not ideal.
  17. BanjoDubs

    BanjoDubs New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Balance:
    0Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Awesome! Great stuff. I will relay these issues over in the other forum and see what they say.
  18. BanjoDubs

    BanjoDubs New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Balance:
    0Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    This is the reply from the KRP developer:

    Please check that structure alignment for DLL compilation is set at 8 bytes.

    Only acceleration is averaged over the latest 40ms. All other values are unfiltered.
  19. BanjoDubs

    BanjoDubs New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Balance:
    0Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Sorry for the delay in testing. I will get to it soon. There are people playing this game but we need to remember the game is in the beta stage. It still has the best physics of all kart sims to date.

    I have been testing the sim data myself with some hardware I'm working on and I have also noticed the delay. I will try and get the dev to look at this.

    Thanks for looking into it sirnoname. I guess you don't know till u try.
  20. Henning Piez

    Henning Piez Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Location:
    Stuttgart
    Balance:
    17Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    I use it, too. It's great, and there are some selfmade tracks that make fun either... It's a private project, so I am not sure if development is still made but so far it is the best kart sim out there...